National Architecture Awards 2020: Walter Burley Griffin Award for Urban Design


Jury quote

Sydney metro Northwest is a metropolitan-scale urban transportation project, integrating eight new stations and their surrounding public spaces through architecture, landscape and art. Urban Strategy is a model book of elements unifying stations along the 36-kilometer corridor, with subtle changes in scale, shape, color and landscape. Each station district is uniquely adjusted based on local alignment, topography and history, giving each center a meaningful identity. The artistic concept further refines this identity by referring to the past to shape the future paradigm.

The orchards that historically populated the city’s northwest are reinterpreted through a fruity color palette that defines the train ride and signals each station, starting with cherry red in Cherrybrook. The orchard grid also gives a poetic logic to the station squares through groves of urban trees, colorful lanterns, fanciful furniture and installations of mist between the trees. Color and light permeate these elements as well as the interiors of the station, elevators, stairs and escalators, creating a fluid play between interior and exterior.

At the heart of this urban planning project is a generous set of quality public spaces that simply delight. The streets, squares, shady groves and calm and luminous interiors are counterbalanced by the play of light bathing each station in a kaleidoscope of colors that animates even the underground halls. The result is a public domain richly layered with memorable and uplifting spaces, all seamlessly connected.

This urban transport project is a game-changer. By reaffirming the forgotten joy of train travel, she demonstrates that public infrastructure can be more than useful. More importantly, by consciously creating sustainable spaces for people to enjoy in every community along the corridor, he creates an array of settings for public life for years to come.

Project credits

Architect Hassell in collaboration with Turpin Crawford Studio and McGregor Westlake Architecture; Group project Ross de la Motte, Geoff Crowe, Jason Hammond, Tom Withecombe, Chris Carr, Yee Woon Juen, Michael Luders, Keith Allen, Michael White, Peter Monckton, Catherine Zhuang, Phillip Meehan, Kutay Ozay, Alexander Chow, Leo Carson, Troy Cook , Allison Hortz, Liam Fitzgerald, Shane Marshall, Emma Townsend, Benjamin Charlton, Hanh Nguyen, Neil Bartlett, Richard Huxley, Rocco Dascoli, Julieanne Boustead, Angus Bruce, Anthony Charlesworth, Callum Bryan-Mathieson, Anne Lucas, Chris Tidswell, Grace Rummery , Adam Griffin; Artists Studio Turpin Crawford, Architecture McGregor Westlake; Builder Jean Holland DGPC contractors joint venture; Documentation Atlas Industries, Assemble, Ridley and Co .; Engineers Mott MacDonald, SMEC, KBR, WSP; Rail systems UGL; Environmental design Flux; Quantity surveyor WT Partnership; Acoustic consultant Renzo Tonin and associates; Accessibility and compliance McKenzie Group; Sustainability assessment Vinsi partners; Graphic design Bruce Slorach.

Metro Northwest is located in Sydney, New South Wales, in the lands of the Bidjigal and Cammeraygal peoples.

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply